Indian Stock Market Holidays 2022 List

Indian stock markets remain open for equity trading on all weekdays except Saturdays, Sundays, and declared market holidays.

Stock Market Timing in India

  • NSE / BSE Opening Time: 09:15 AM IST
  • NSE / BSE Closing Time: 03:30 PM IST

As per a list published on BSEs website, in total, 13 trading holidays will take place in 2022. Apart from Saturdays and Sundays, these are days on which no trading is going to take place in 2022. On these trade holidays, there will be no trading on equity sectors, Equity Derivatives segments, and SLB segments. 

Here is a full list of 2022 trading holidays, excluding Saturdays and Sundays, which are trading holidays by default. Also, a second list gives holidays that fall on Saturdays and Sundays.

In January, only one holiday falls on 26 January, a Wednesday, which falls on Republic Day. In March, there are two holidays for Maha Shivratri and Holi, on March 1, Tuesday, and March 18, Friday. In April, there are two holidays, on April 14, Thursday for Mahavir/Ambedkar Jayanti and April 15, 2022, on Friday for Good Friday. In the month of May, there is only one trading holiday on May 3, 2022, Tuesday for Ramzan Idai. 

In June and July, there are no trade holidays, except on Saturdays and Sundays. August has three holidays: August 9, 2022 (Tuesday), August 15 (Monday) and August 31 (Wednesday) respectively, to celebrate Muharram, Independence Day, and Ganesh Chaturthi. There are no holidays on a weekday in September 2022. The three trade holidays for October are held on 5 October (Wednesday), 24 October (Monday) and 26 October (Wednesday) respectively, to celebrate Dussehra, Diwali, and Diwali Balappada.

In November 2022, there is a single trading holiday, which is on November 08, Tuesday, for Gurunanak Jayanti. In December 2022, there is no trade holiday falling between Saturdays and Sundays. In total, the year has five holidays of Ram Navami, Maharashtra Day, Bakri Id, Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti, and Christmas falling on Sundays, hence there are no special holidays declared for those events. 

The Stock Exchange may modify or modify any of the holidays specified in the list, and any such changes shall be informed by way of a separate circular issued beforehand.

Trading Holidays for 2022

Sr. No.HolidaysDate
1Republic DayJanuary 26,2022
2MahashivratriMarch 01,2022
3HoliMarch 18,2022
4Mahavir Jayanti / Dr.Baba Saheb Ambedkar JayantiApril 14,2022
5Good FridayApril 15,2022
6Id-Ul-Fitr (Ramzan Id)May 03,2022
7MuharramAugust 09,2022
8Independence DayAugust 15,2022
9Ganesh ChaturthiAugust 31,2022
10DussehraOctober 05,2022
11Diwali * Laxmi PujanOctober 24,2022
12Diwali BalipratipadaOctober 26,2022
13Gurunanak JayantiNovember 08,2022

Diwali Muhurat Trading

Diwali Muhurat Trading will be held on October 24, 2022 from 6:15 PM To 7:15 PM (Diwali Amavasya – Laxmi Puja) time.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *